Divorce
A Maryland Divorce can be stressful and time consuming and that is why it is so important to be properly represented by a family law attorney.  At least one spouse must be a Maryland resident for at least one year prior to the filing of the divorce.

Generally, Maryland law requires the divorcing couple to live apart for at least 12 months before filing for divorce. Otherwise, the plaintiff must show that there are “fault grounds” for the divorce. This means that the plaintiff must prove his or her spouse did something that caused the breakup of the marriage.

  • On October 1, 2016, Maryland law changed to allow "immediate" divorce by mutual consent, only when there are no minor children between the divorcing couple. This means that if divorcing parties without minor children, consent to the divorce and are not contesting any issues, then the 12-month period of separation or any fault grounds are not required.
  • If there are children, then the divorcing couple must live apart for at least 12 months before filing for divorce or be able to prove a "fault ground" for either absolute or limited divorce.
  • Divorce proceedings if done properly will allow for determinations on ​pendente lite ​relief, custody of children and their support, alimony, and distribution of property among other pressing issues.


Domestic Violence (Peace and Protective orders)
The State of Maryland takes Domestic Violence seriously and there are many statutes that provide victims with immediate relief to obtain it.

  • A Temporary Protective Order (TPO) can be issued in Montgomery County Maryland 24 hours and 7 days a week. A petitioner who is in need of protection will want to be sure to provide the court with adequate information to support the reason for seeking protection. Protective orders apply to intimate partners, usually spouses, and those related by blood or who live with the petitioner while peace orders are for protection against all others.
  • After an initial or temporary order is issued, it is usually wise for a victim or alleged abuser to seek counsel for representation at a Final protective or peace order hearing, which happens 7 days after the TPO hearing. At this hearing the judge can enter binding protection for up to twelve months or dismiss the complaint altogether.